Day before the Daniel Fast…and I’m already hungry

19 May

I have a confession to make. I love queso. And ice cream. Preferably with Reese’s Peanutbutter cups. This is evidenced by my pants which are a little tighter than they were last year. Well, and the fact that they are a size larger (but shhh…don’t tell anyone). I have justified my poor eating habits by saying that I am busy, I work (a lot), I have had two kids, my hormones are crazy, I don’t have time to cook healthy…you get the idea. But the truth is, that when I think about it, I mean REALLY think about it, I feel God asking me how He can bless me when I don’t take care of the one thing that I have full control over-the food that enters my mouth. St. Paul, in his letter to the Corinthians wrote,

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, which you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you were bought with a price; therefore glorify God in your body.1 Corinthians 6:19-20

As I began to prepare for my 7 journey, I wanted to make sure that I really am making a sacrifice. Limiting myself to just 7 foods as Jen does is not realistic for 2 reasons: first, sometimes I have to eat out for lunch at work and second, my hormones really are crazy and I want to make sure I am getting a good balance of foods. So, instead I have decided that during the food portion of my 7 journey, I will be doing the Daniel Fast.

ultimate-guide-small

For the next 21 days, I will eat only: fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts and seeds, unleavened bread, beans, quality oils and seasonings. I will not eat meat, dairy products, sweeteners, leavened bread, refined/processed foods, deep fried foods, solid fats or beverages other than water.

I am also putting the scale on the top shelf of the closet. I do not want this to be another diet. If I lose weight, great. But I don’t want that to be the focus of my fast. I want to focus on elminating the unneccessary from my life and letting God fill those gaps.

Tonight, I eat my last Reese’s McFlurry. See ya later, queso. I will miss you.

Leave a Reply

