Living in Abundance…and wanting to get rid of it

19 May

By March of this year I had a new job, new outlook on life and new faith that God will lead me where He wants me to be and that I am happier where He puts me than where I *think* I want to be. As I was browsing the Internet, enjoying my newfound comfort zone, I came across a book called 7:An experimental mutiny against excess.  Then, I clicked to the next book.

Two weeks later, I discover that there is a Lifeway store near my new office and head over during my lunch break. What is the first book that I see? You guessed it–7. So, I picked it up, took it back to the office and began a quick scan.

7

Three chapters in, and my mind is blown! The author, Jen Hatmaker, was struggling with the exact same things that I was. Her family was blessed with abundance but still missing something. So, she embarks on a journey to get rid of the extra in her life in order to draw closer to Jesus. The areas of focus are: clothes, food, spending, waste, media, possessions and stress.

This is exactly what I need, so at the urging of the spirit, I too will begin my own experiment with reduction. Next week I begin with food reduction. Let the hunger fun times begin.

2 Responses to “Living in Abundance…and wanting to get rid of it”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Daniel Fast Day 2…I wasn’t expecting a miracle | woman with a purpose - May 22, 2013

    […] man who is the King. He has everything he could possibly want, but he is not satisfied with that. (Sound familiar?) He spies someone else’s wife and he wants that instead of the bazillion other wives and […]

  2. Daniel Fast Day 3….Vegans May be on to Something | woman with a purpose - May 23, 2013

    […] I first began my journey through 7, my goal was to eliminate some of the abundance in my life in order to make […]

Leave a Reply

