Daniel Fast Day 1 (Part 1)…on prayer and coffee

21 May

Today, I began day 1 of my Daniel Fast and I did not begin well. I woke up late, and had to rush the kids to school. I said a few choice words in traffic, and it wasn’t until after I popped one of my daughter’s frosted shredded wheat cereals into my mouth that I remembered I was fasting.

Lesson 1: Plan to wake up early and pray each morning so that you are off to a good start each day and do not fall into temptation.

Now, a quick word about coffee. It is not allowed on the Daniel Fast, however in the interest of honesty let me disclose that during my fast I plan to gradually wean myself away from my daily dose of java. I typically get a ‘grande white mocha, extra whipped cream in a venti cup’ at Starbucks every single morning. Not only is that coffee, but it is about 800 calories and $5 worth of waste. Today, I went to McDonalds, ordered a small coffee with one cream and 2 sugars. Each day throughout the fast, I will slowly reduce, and my goal is to be coffee (and soda) free by the end of week 2.

For those of you who are strict legalists, I understand that this will be disappointing, but my goal is to give up something so that I can draw near to God, and quite frankly I will not be a good pray-er or bible read-er if I have a pounding headache and institution worthy mood swings…just sayin’.

Lesson 2: Do not be a Pharisee.

Apparently, I am not the only one. I found this on Etsy, and it speaks to my heart:

praycoffee

Now, I am off to the grocery store to stock up…

2 Responses to “Daniel Fast Day 1 (Part 1)…on prayer and coffee”

  1. MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com May 22, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    Where did you get the “prayer and coffee” sign? That’s my motto! I LOVE prayer and I LOVE coffee!

Leave a Reply

