Daniel Fast Day 5…I’ve Gotten it all Wrong

25 May

Today is the 5th day of my Daniel Fast, and I realize that not even one week into it, I’ve gotten it all wrong. It’s a good thing that there are 16 days left. During this first week, I have spent a lot of time thinking about food. What should I buy? What should I eat? What should I not eat? Am I hungry? I began to notice a trend. I was focused on the “I” not on “Him.”  So today, at His nudging, I opened up my study that goes along with 7,called Staging Your Own Mutiny Against Excess and it immediately directed me to Isaiah 58.

7

Isaiah 58 is God’s response to people who were fasting and asking why they were not hearing from God. Isaiah 58: 2-3 says:

For day after day they seek me out;
they seem eager to know my ways,
as if they were a nation that does what is right
and has not forsaken the commands of its God.
They ask me for just decisions
and seem eager for God to come near them.

‘Why have we fasted,’ they say,
‘and you have not seen it?
Why have we humbled ourselves,
and you have not noticed?’

God’s response to them was that their fasting was not enough. It is not enough to fast, to pray and to seek God if we do not seek to do what is righteous in His eyes. You can read the rest of Isaiah 58 here.

God replied with a very specific list of things that He wanted and did not want His people to do.

God did NOT wanted His people to:

  • Do as they please
  • Exploit their workers
  • Quarrel, strike one another
  • Turn away from their own flesh and blood

During a fast, God wants us to be kind. He wants us to treat other people well and rid ourselves of anger and resentment. Those emotions take us away from God. They do not draw us nearer to him. Isaiah 58:4-5 says,

You cannot fast as you do today
and expect your voice to be heard on high.
Is this the kind of fast I have chosen,
only a day for people to humble themselves?
Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed
and for lying in sackcloth and ashes?
Is that what you call a fast,
a day acceptable to the Lord?

I should not be spending my fast in leisure time: browsing the Internet, watching the latest episodes of Revenge and catching up on Facebook. I should not consume foods or products that come from places where slaves were utilized to manufacture, grow or produce goods for my consumption. I should not allow my change in diet to affect my attitude with my spouse, children or co-workers. I should mend relationships with family members whom I bear a grudge against.

Instead, God DID want His people to:

  • Loose the chains of injustice
  • Set the oppressed free
  • Share food with the hungry
  • Provide shelter to the wanderer
  • Clothe the poor
  • Do away with malicious talk
  • Honor the Sabbath

If I use these verses as my guidelines, then I have a lot of work ahead of me for the next 16 days. He has called me to charitable work, that in my own selfish desire for things and ‘personal time,’ I have pushed to the way side. He wants me to speak well of Him and others. He wants me to go to church and honor the day that He has set aside as Holy.

Lesson 5: If God has called you to fast, and He must be the one to tell you what to do and what not to do during this time.

Then, when I do these things in a spirit of fasting toward Him, he has promised:

The Lord will guide you always;
he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
like a spring whose waters never fail.

He has given me the strength I need for the past 5 days to endure the discomfort of a change in eating, but now He calls me to a change in action.

Lesson 6: God will satisfy all of your needs if you wait in obedience.

Isaiah-58-11

What changes do you feel God calling you to make?

One Response to “Daniel Fast Day 5…I’ve Gotten it all Wrong”

  1. notjustanylovesong June 13, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    Wow, I’m glad I’m getting caught up on your blog as I’m just starting my Daniel fast. I had already made the decision to fast completely from TV, which I don’t have one right now so that wasn’t a big deal. But your blog on Day 5 really addressed the true attitude of our hearts during this sanctified time. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

