Daniel Fast Day 11…Finding Extra Baggage

31 May

I am officially through with half of my Daniel Fast journey. 10 days down, 10 to go! I know that in the beginning, I told you that I would not be weighing myself. However, the temptation to take one quick look was overpowering because my clothes are fitting so differently and I feel lighter. The result: during the last 10 days I have lost 10 lbs of extra baggage that my body was lugging around. I still eat 3 meals a day and 2 snacks, but the elimination of sugar (goodbye Dr. Pepper), the added fiber (hello vegetables) and removal of all animal products has done wonder for my body. No wonder Daniel was healthier at the end of his fast than the rest of the king’s men.

And at the end of ten days their features appeared better and fatter in flesh than all the young men who ate the portion of the king’s delicacies. Daniel 1:15

weight loss veggies

Before you begin to believe that it has all been easy, let me tell you the truth. The beginning was very difficult. I didn’t want to blog about it up front because I didn’t want to discourage anyone else from embarking upon a fast if they felt so compelled.

Day 2 of the fast left me with a massive headache. I was moody, mean to my husband and kids, and had to take a mid day nap. Day 3 I had tension in my neck and shoulders. I whined all day about my misery making those around me miserable also.  By day 5 though, I could feel my body adjusting and now that I seem to be completely detoxed I have energy and feel great. For someone with a healthier diet, the beginning may not be so difficult. Prior to the Daniel Fast, the only fruit I ate was on top of a sundae and the only vegetables were fried at McDonalds or served along something like a deep friend chicken fried steak. Now, however, my refrigerator is stocked with fresh fruits and vegetables galore.

The fact that I lost 10 lbs so easily, has led me to really think about the extra ‘baggage’ that I am carrying around with me. Not only on my waistline, but also in my life. The primary objective of 7:An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess   is to find this extra baggage in your life and get rid of it. Get rid of the possessions, the time suckers and the stress facilitators in your life and replace them with God and the things that keep you in His will.  During the last 10 days, as I have prayed and become more self-aware, I have found so many things that count as excess baggage:

  • Too many emails
  • The stress of waking up late
  • A play date that I don’t really want to go to
  • Books that I have already read, will never read again but allow to take up space in my home
  • Toys, toys and more toys
  • Food that has been sitting unopened in my pantry (2 year old alfredo sauce anyone?)
  • Clothes that have not fit since 7th grade
  • Pants that are not hemmed
  • Junk Mail
  • A broken lawn chair that is upside down in my backyard
  • Never taking time to get myself a dental checkup
  • Loose change that just sits on the counter or entry table
  • Chargers and plugs for phones that I have not owned since they still had antennae’s

The list goes on and on and on. AND THESE ARE JUST MATERIAL THINGS! This does not take into account the emotional baggage of fear, expectations (self imposed or otherwise), responsibilities of child rearing, etc, etc, etc. All of this stuff fills my days, but it does not fill me up. It is more and more that drains me and leaves me with less and less.

baggage

When I think that I should sit to pray or read the Bible, but I am distracted by the pile of photos I have yet to put into an album or the ten thousand dishes piled into the sink what has won: God or the things? Has the baggage that I have filled my home and my life with become an idol that I use to replace God?

The answer is yes. Throughout the remaining 10 days of my fast and going forward with my own 7 experiment, I will look at these things and eliminate them one by one.

What is one thing YOU can get rid of today that keeps you from allowing God to fill your life and your mind with Him?

Leave a Reply

