ACTS Retreat: Over a Year Later

20 Dec

It has been over a year since I was active on my blog. I’ve had a lot of life changes, and for 2015 I want to make it a point to become more active. I had completely forgotten that I had ever blogged about the ACTS retreat over a year ago, and ironically, my husband just got back from the retreat this month. My husband is Catholic, but aside from Sunday mass, he was not very active in the church. Since coming back from the retreat, he has made friends at church and looks forward to going to events more. So now, after having had both of us go on the retreat, and having a year to reflect on my own experience , here are my thoughts:

PRO: You meet and become friends with a lot of people in the parish who you may have never otherwise had the opportunity to get to know. This means that you have “friends,” at mass and do not get lost in the sea of people rushing about. For the first time ever, we do feel like we are part of a community of believers.

CON: If you do not go on the retreat, you may never get this sense of community. That could lead a lot of people in the parish to feel “left out.” The ACTS community (where I live at least) could do a better job of reaching out to everyone, not just those who went on the retreat.

PRO: Because this is a retreat, you get the opportunity to pray and think about your relationship with God. You come face to face with your own sinfulness and are humbled by the experience.

CON: Depending on the group of people on your retreat, you may learn or hear more than you are comfortable with. I think that the retreat needs to incorporate more “joy,” and more talk about the redemptive act of salvation. That’s just my opinion

PRO: Because of the fact that the retreat is kept a secret, you feel “safe” talking to people and are able to let your guard down.

CON: When you get back from the retreat, you don’t know if you are still able to talk to people about things or there is no opportunity to do so. The community encourages small groups, but with many different schedules, it is difficult to maintain them.

To my visitors: What other pros and cons do you see after experiencing an ACTS retreat?

Leave a Reply

